I’ll Never Understand

“We need more change of ourselves, to change the lives of others,
We need more understanding,
to tackle our misunderstanding,
We need more sympathy,
not apathy…” – Michael Bassey Johnson

As I sit here and watch Beasts of No Nation, my thoughts take over.

In all honesty, I’ve never understood war. I’ll probably never understand it, just as wars will probably never end, unfortunately.

Yes, I understand fighting for your country, independence, power, and the fact that in the end both countries are most likely fighting for the same concern. You could say I understand what is trying to be accomplished, but not what it consists of.

War. Why?

The way innocent lives are disrupted in the communities is beyond me. The way someone could have a gun aiming at the face of a innocent child who has no clue as to what is going on and a life ahead of him, of a mother or father who have a family to support and raise to grow up and live out their dreams while living out their own at the same time, or perhaps of an elderly person who has lived so many years and made it in this all too crazy world absolutely astounds me. I won’t understand the destruction that humans do towards one another when we’re all fighting the same battles just at different times in our live, but we decide to take it out on each other. I’ll never understand the way people don’t take the time to empathize with others the passion that drives, the fears and doubts that hinder, or simply the life lived through someone.

Maybe, though, I’m not supposed to understand everything. All I can do is hope and work for more peace and understanding of the ones we walk side by side each day with.

 

Leave a Reply

