Finish Line

Well cross-country is in full swing and let me tell you I am so satisfied with how far I have come since preseason started to now, but also from freshman year. I have gained so much strength and changed my mindset that I have been proving to myself every week that I am capable of everything.

IMG_1277Source: Pinterest

I have the honor of being the girls’ captain and it’s hard. I mean I have to be positive and encouraging even when I’m struggling and having a bad day. I didn’t realize that being captain would bring out something I didn’t know I had, that I would find so much confidence in myself, but also make other girls believe that they to are powerful and can do anything. I always tell them before a race, “I don’t want any negativity”, I mean I don’t care if you didn’t get the time you wanted because you still went out and tried and finished and that’s all that matters; you can come back next week and try again. Being negative doesn’t help in any way because you eventually believe that you can’t, so by being positive you eventually believe that you can do it and will go out and do it. I love my girls so much with all that they have done and will continue to do.

“It doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.”   -Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder

P.S. Believe in yourself and you will learn so much.

Leave a Reply

