Grandma

As most of you know, it’s been a year since my Grandma passed. Well, April 17 will be a year. Lately I’ve felt the need to write about her. I don’t know if it’s because this time last year was so hectic and my world was spinning trying to keep everything balanced along with enjoying herΒ last few daysΒ or because of my Sci-tech project involving her cancer or the mixture of both; I think I just want to write as a way to let it out without crying it all out. It’s interesting because along with writing, I’ll be finishing up a project I’ve been working on for about a year as well.

I joined the Sci-Tech program at my high school not having a clue what I wanted to do. The requirement for the program is that you have to proposeΒ an extended learning experience either theoretical or applied with the goal of an innovation coming out of it. After a while I decided, “I want to do something based off my Grandma, I don’t know what, but something” and I came across the idea of researching how the brain is retrained after a traumatic brain injury and to come up with another way to do that. But then, I was trying to explain my project to my class and the relation to my Grandma and I realized that Glioblastoma Multiforme and traumatic brain injuries are not that similar; I wasn’t completing the intended goal. So, I had to sit on it and think for a while about what I could do, when I came across the idea of researching the current treatments used for Glioblastoma and their side effects in order to create a less harmful treatment for people in the future.

I have spent this entire school year researching multiple aspects of cancer from the broad term of cancer all the way to the specific information on the cells and treatments to get to the design of my treatment. It’s not completely done, but it’s getting there. In all, I am satisfied and contented to have been given the chance to do this. Yes, the journey that made me decide the project in the first place was hard, but what’s coming out of it is lots of knowledge and understanding I hadn’t had before. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

